Turkeys Behaving Badly

When I wake up each morning, I turn on the radio and listen to NPR news while I do my back exercises and get washed and dressed and ready for the day. This means that I am listening to the news before I put in my hearing aids.

While I was down on the floor doing back stretches this morning, I heard the NPR announcer previewing a story about “police and turkeys being at odds.” I had a feeling I hadn’t heard that correctly. I’ve had turkeys on the brain because a flock of more than a dozen wild turkeys have been making a nuisance of themselves taking dust baths in my newly planted flower bed. But it seemed unlikely that turkeys behaving badly had become such a widespread problem as to involve the police! Nevertheless, I laughed aloud a bit later, when I realized I was listening to the previewed story – about tensions between Greece (not police) and Turkey (the country, not the fowl).

Leave a comment